February 11, 2016

Petition to Remove a Pesticide Used On Strawberries From Use in California

Napa Valley resident and parent,  Beatrice  Tao, beatrice@ityu.com, shared the links, letter and  petition below and to inform community members about easy ways to speak up for safe produce in California for our families:

California Governor Jerry Brown just appointed Brian Leahy – an organic farmer – to head California’s Department of Pesticide Regulation.  Brown has delayed action on the cancer-causing strawberry pesticide methyl iodide  insisting that the decision must rest with the head of the pesticide regulation agency. Now that Leahy is taking the helm, he can act on the issue. California has the opportunity to get methyl iodide out of our food.

Environmental Working Group is partnering with the Pesticide Action Network to let Director Leahy know (community members) want methyl iodide off the market. Our goal is 10,000 signatures by midnight on Friday, February 17th.

Click here to sign the petition to Governor Brown and Director Leahy.

Taking action in California, where nearly all U.S. strawberries are grown, will make a difference nationally. A California ban on methyl iodide will cover the major source and will also give the federal Environmental Protection Agency a clear reason to re-evaluate this chemical in light of the overwhelming scientific evidence that methyl iodide has no safe place in agriculture.

Methyl iodide is a known carcinogen. It is linked to miscarriages. It contaminates groundwater in some communities. Injecting it as a gas into the soil at more than a hundred pounds per acre presents unacceptable risks to nearby rural communities, pregnant women, children and farmworkers. This chemical is just plain dangerous, and we will continue to press on all fronts to get it banned before it gains wider use.

Let’s get methyl iodide off the market and out of our food. Help us get to 10,000 signatures on our petition to Brown and Leahy before midnight Friday – that’s just over 24 hours away.

Thank you…

Ken Cook
President, Environmental Working Group